Seniority (years of service) should not be the basis of employee compensation. Employees should be promoted and given raises solely on the basis of their work performance and merit. That is a better way to encourage high productivity.

Discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the opinion stated above. Support your views with reasons and/or examples from your own experience, observations or reading.

Seniority is something which given if we feel that person is loyal to the company. Person who is most passionate about being in the merit list, hence because of his involvement and dedication his performance is mostly better than other companions of them. But this people cannot be trusted for the company as they always seek what is better for them in the first place than for the company.

For example, my friend's dad was working under his boss and was given all the responsibility at the beginning itself of representing and communicating with the clients by having trust in him. One fine day they had the argument in work and he got fired from his boss. As he was having a better connection with the clients than the boss of his, as a result, he could magnetize them to get the work. Finally, after some years, their company became a rivalry to his new company by getting the valuable client of them worked for him.

Another reason for not promoting the employees by some computers productivity algorithm is some people carry their companions with them and does not hesitate to give respective credits to their co-workers. This kind of people are more obliged for the promotion than the self-centered, unsecured people. In fact, these people are more trustworthy and more reliable for these jobs and can handle people under them quite well.

By seeing only their merits or their increment or for promotion the person who is productive than too cannot reach the top of the list that is mediocre which are the most crowd in the employees as any place cannot be taken by two individuals will get less enthusiastic for their work and productivity will get lose.

Finally, I refute the above discussion as I feel that the employees should not be judged on exclusively on their performance and should also be judged on the loyalty and involved in coordinating with other employees. Also should be loyal to the company which can be observed from his academics he performed in those years while he was working for that company.