Chemists have determined that spring water from Augusta, Maine contains minerals necessary for a healthy body. Residents of Augusta, Maine, have a longer life span than the average U.S. citizen. Even though spring water from Augusta, Maine may be expensive, it is a superior choice over drinking general tap water.

How would you rate the accuracy of the above statement? Support your position with reasons and examples.

In the argument, they are assuming that drinking spring water from Augusta, Maine which chemist claims to have necessary minerals which makes the body healthy. Hence to increase the lifespan of the average US citizen, the tap water should be replaced by the spring water. I raise the following point for counterpoint the above assumptions made.

Firstly, they haven't said that spring water is better than tap water. The chemist has commented on containing minerals but hasn't said about the dissolving of the minerals in the human body. Some minerals are hard and come out of the human body as waste without digesting the required minerals. It is possible that the spring water even though containing minerals cannot supply to the human body to make it healthy. Those hard mineral needs a catalyst which we have to consume to make those minerals to digest. Hence they should comment on the dissolvability in the human body.

Secondly, there isn't any notion claiming that the residents of Augusta, Maine is drinking spring water. They rather drink tap water as it is expensive and will increase their daily cost much more. Even if they did, they haven't said about the amount of consumption. Hence they should show the amount of consumption of spring water&nbsp;by <span style="font-size: 19.36px;">the residents</span>.

Thirdly, they haven't said that spring water is better than tap water. They have considered an exclusive relation between consuming spring water and a healthy body. Genetics, lifestyle, diet are highly linked to a healthier life. For example, in India, the people eat more at dinner as well as at lunch whereas in UK citizen prefer the main course at lunch.

Hence the argument is unconvincing as it stands. To strengthen it they must have provided strong evidence that no other factors are responsible for the healthier body and the spring water is better than tap water. Finally, to better evaluate the argument we would need more information about the relationship between drinking spring water and the lifespan of the people so that we can assess that spring water is a superior choice over tap water even if it is expensive.