Chemists have determined that spring water from Augusta, Maine contains minerals necessary for a healthy body. Residents of Augusta, Maine, have a longer life span than the average U.S. citizen. Even though spring water from Augusta, Maine may be expensive, it is a superior choice over drinking general tap water.

How would you rate the accuracy of the above statement? Support your position with reasons and examples.

The author claims that the water from Augusta, Maine is enrich in minerals, which are necessary for healthy human body. The people of Augusta, Maine have a longer life span than the average U.S. citizen, which makes the spring water from Augusta, Maine as a superior choice over drinking tap water. Though his claims well have merits, but the author presents a poorly reasoned argument, based on several assumptions, and based solely on the evidence the author offers, we cannot accept his argument as valid.

The primary issue with author's reasoning lies in his unsubstantiated premises. the author claims that the spring water from Augusta, Maine is rich in many minerals, which are necessary for healthy human body, he did not consider this into account that, maybe the minerals which are present in the spring water in the Augusta is consumed by the U.S. people in various different form. The author also did not involve any evidence claiming that those minerals are only found in the spring water from Augusta, which makes this premises tenuous. Clearly, the author premises, the basis for his argument, lack any legitimate evidentiary support and render his conclusion unacceptable.

In addition, the author makes several assumptions that remains unproven. The author assumes that the longer life span of the residents of Augusta, Maine is due to the water they are drinking. The author completely obviate the fact the healthy and longer life span of the resident of Augusta is may be due to the lifestyle they are living. United States is a very fast growing country, the average life span of people of U.S. may be less as compared to the residents of Augusta, but this may be due to the stress, tension, work pressure or the life style they fellow. We simply can't make assumption, life span of an individual gets affected by many factors, but by not just drinking water.

While the author does have several issues in his argument's premises and assumption, that is not to say his whole argument is without base. For an individual to led a healthy life minerals, vitamins and nutritions plays a vital role. It is important for an individual to their body nutritions requirements. This can be possible the average U.S. is not imbibing proper nutritions which is required by their body, but it is illogical to say that it is completely due to the drinking water. By providing clarification and better research, the author can strengthen his argument significantly.

In sum, the author's irrational argument that the average U.S's life span is small as compared to the residents of Augusta due to the drinking water, is illogical. If author truly hope to change his reader's mind on the issue, he would largely have to restructure his argument, fix the flaws in his premises, clearly explicate his assumptions that the healthy and longer life span of the resident of Augusta is just because of their drinking water. Without these things, his poorly reasoned argument will likely to convince few people.