Claim: Even though young people often receive the advice to “follow your dreams,” more emphasis should be placed on picking worthy goals.

Reason: Many people’s dreams are inherently selfish.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim AND the reason on which that claim is based.

The Author's claim that young people should pick worthy goals, albeit the advice "follow your dreams" seems tenuous. An individual should follow whatever he/she is passionate about, and should not compromise with their dreams and goals.

First of all, let's focus more on what is a worthy dreams. There is nothing called "worthy dreams," all dreams are worthy for an individual, if he/she is passionate about his goals. Worthy dream is not just becoming a doctor, an engineer or a scientist, it can be anything like musician, dancer, athlete, beat boxer, singer and much more. One cannot just say all the above mentioned is not a worthy dreams. If Eminem has become a doctor instead of becoming a rapper, he would have been not called a "rap god" or would have not been so successful in his career.

Moreover, it highly likely for an individual to succeed in his life if he/she follow his/her dreams. If they are really ardent about their passion, they should work more effectively towards achieving their goals. For example, if an individual has chosen to follow something he is not passionate about, he would have ended up being mediocre in that field and would have regretted entire life for not following his/her dreams. It's pithy to follow your goals if you are passionate and want to convert your dream into your work.

In addition, yes many people’s dreams are inherently selfish, but there is no harm in it. If an individual has a penchant for something and he/she is good in doing something they like, they will most likely follow it as his/her dream.

In conclusion, Young people should follow their dreams, albeit of what other people say about their dreams and goals. There is no proper definition for worthy dreams. Dreams, which an individual is passionate about and want it to convert into his/her work is a worthy dream. At last, there is no harm in finding your dreams through your inherent selfishness, unless he/she is passionate about pursuing his/her dream.