Claim: Even though young people often receive the advice to “follow your dreams,” more emphasis should be placed on picking worthy goals.

Reason: Many people’s dreams are inherently selfish.

The given claim insisting positively young people to follow their goals instead of following their dreams seems to be praiseworthy. Nonetheless the reason specified for the claim that many of the dreams are selfish seems to be contradictory in some way. Any such conclusion should be evaluated with examples of situation which depict such scenarios.

Dreams allow youth to explore more and more progress in their fields. Young generation today have reached their pinnacle in their field because of unrestricted scope in dreams. Nonetheless dreams allow adults to achieve their goals. The CEO of top most IT companies today have reached their position only due their capacity to dream. As rightly said by the CEO of Google Sundar Pichai "A person is influenced by his capacity of dreaming and Imagination should not have any limits". Nonetheless we cannot ignore the founder of Tesla Elon Musk. The capacity of individual to dream lead to invention of such a revolutionary model which is known as Tesla which people admire entirely over the globe today.

Nevertheless Goals can be consider as the limit an individual sets in order to achieve his target or mission. Certain hindrances might affect human achieving his goals but if an individual is firm in his opinion he should reach pinnacle. Moreover goals help people to break their own records. Vast industrial revolution, technological advancements, corporate progress, financial get throughs and development of country economy can be observed today as outcome of uncompromising goals. Dreams, on the other hand might not be intede for selfish motives. Considering the case of Google, It aims just to increase its revenue also helping its customer to take benefits of its free services like Google Maps and Drive storage space upto it specified limit. Moreover we cannot ignore completely the fact the Google doesn't have any selfish motives as it charges its customer heavily for exploring its service beyond certain limit of free trial usage.

Some organisation in work really follow their dreams without any inherent selfish motives like NGO's. Most of the NGO's in the rustic parts of african continent are striving hard today to free africa from poverty. Nevertheless we cannot blame such organisations and insist them to follow any kind of goals as thy are already following dreams as their aims meticulously.

The reason stated for above claim has an restricted scope. Nevertheless the instances depicted above clearly illustrate case in which above reason might be fallacious. Without evaluating those mentions case reaching to such an conclusion without any strong basis is cleary worthless.