The following appeared in a letter from the faculty committee to the president of Seatown University:

A study conducted at nearby Oceania University showed that faculty retention is higher when professors are offered free tuition at the university for their own college-aged children. Therefore, Seatown should institute a free-tuition policy for its professors for the purpose of enhancing morale among the faculty and luring new professors.

In the given memorandum, the author insists that Seatown should institute a free tuition policy for its professors for enhancing their morale. The author completely fails to provide an cogent conclusion as he makes his claims of basis of faulty reasoning. Moreover there are also chances that professor might leave despite of providing free tuition, the author completely ignores such scenarios.

The author asserts that the survey conducted nearby Oceania concluded that professor are more likely to retain when the university offered them free education. The author clearly fails to provide an cohesive case as he doesn't mention any details regarding the survey conducted neither we who were the constituents of the survey. Nevertheless the author doesn't provide any specific details regarding time period in which the survey was conducted as there might be possibility that the survey might be too antedated to be considered an a valid case. Nonetheless the author claims that retention amount of faculty is higher. The author uses vague terminology to examine his case as their is no any specific evidence supporting the claim how higher the retention actually is ? Moreover possibilities are also there that the professor might be attracted toward the other facilities of the university. The author completely neglects any such scenarios.

The author further posits that Seatown should institute a free tuition policy in order to enhance its professors morale and lure new professore. The author is making vast number of unwarranted assumptions in making his claims as he assume what is applicable for Oceania is same applicable for Seatown. Furthemore Oceania might be a economical developed part which might allow its universities to provide such incentives. Seatown on the other hand might be struggling to maintain its own economy which might further abet universities from providing such incentives. The author doesn't provide any information about such cases. Furthemore, despite of providing free tuitions the professors of the Oceania might be attracted more towards the lavish incentives provided by private teaching institutions for which the author doesn't provide any specific evidence.

The author is making hasty assumptions in reaching out to the conclusion that Seatown should institute a free tuition policy for its professor. The author should meticulously evaluate the above mentioned scenarios. Instituting free tuition ignoring above mentioned facts might not lead Oceania University its intended results.