The following appeared in a letter from the faculty committee to the president of Seatown University:

A study conducted at nearby Oceania University showed that faculty retention is higher when professors are offered free tuition at the university for their own college-aged children. Therefore, Seatown should institute a free-tuition policy for its professors for the purpose of enhancing morale among the faculty and luring new professors.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The recommendation, at first glance, might seem like a good advice, but when evaluated, the argument is found to be rife with flaws. The argument has made numerous unwarranted assumptions that render it highly suspect. If the assumptions do not hold true, the argument will completely fall apart.

The faculty committee cites a study conducted at the Oceania University that is situated nearby Seatown University. The faculty committee has assumed that Oceania and Seatown University are similar in nature and hence, what worked in Oceania will work in Seatown. There is no additional evidence given by the faculty to support the assumption of similarity. Let us consider a scenario where Oceania University is situated in the city centre and Seatown University is situated in the rural outskirts. To assume that the both the Universities are equally sought out by college aspirants is a fundamental flaw in the argument. The faculty committee needs to provide more information regarding the study at Oceania and how Oceania is similar to Seatown to strengthen its argument.

The argument states that offering free tuition to the professors' college-aged children will increase morale amongst the faculty members.The argument assumes that faculty retention equals high morale. Even if we assume they are the same, the offer will only work if all or majority of the faculty members have college-aged children and want to study in Seatown University. There is a high possibility that high number of professors fall under the category of people who do not have children, do not want to have children in the future, have children who want to study elsewhere or have children who are not college-aged. In all the above-mentioned scenarios, the offer will have no impact or negative impact on the morale of the faculty members. To strengthen its argument, the faculty committee must present a clear representation of faculty members and their desires for their college-aged children, if any.

Even if we were to assume that Oceania and Seatown University are similar and the offer will please majority of the faculty members in Seatown, we can not assume that it will lure new professors. The study conducted in the nearby Oceania University only provides information on faculty retention and no information about the new professors. There are various factors that affect workplace selection for new professors like emphasis on research by the University, the salary offered and opportunity to grow in the University.It is an extrapolation by the faculty committee and needs more evidence to support its claim.

In conclusion, faculty committee needs to provide the aforementioned evidence to strengthen its argument. The president of Seatown University will be taking a disastrous decision if he/she decides to follow through with the recommendation without appropriate evidence.