Claim: Even though young people often receive the advice to “follow your dreams,” more emphasis should be placed on picking worthy goals.

Reason: Many people’s dreams are inherently selfish.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim AND the reason on which that claim is based.

The claim suggests that young people should not be blindly advised to follow their dreams, instead they should be persuaded to pick goals that are worthy. The claim is based on the reason that if not persuaded, young people will follow their inherent selfish dreams. I disagree with the claim and the reason given for the claim. My opinion will be based on the ambiguous nature of the definition of worthy and the assumption that selfish dreams are unworthy.

What is worthy? Is volunteering at an orphanage considered more worthy than working day and night to build a business from scratch?What I may consider as worthy, may not be considered as worthy by you. It is very subjective to determine if someone's goals are worthy or not. It is a matter of opinion and perspective. Let us consider an instance where a young fellow wants to pursue his dream of opening a hotel. A lot of people may not consider it as a worthy goal because it might ruin the heritage of the city. On the other hand, a lot of people might think of it as a worthy goal because it will help the tourism industry of the city. For the advisor to decide what is worthy may or may not be what is best for the young person involved.

The reason given for the claim is that many people's dreams are inherently selfish. For the sake of the argument, let us assume that the claim suggests that worthy goals are goals that are for the betterment of the people around you, and any goal that does not directly contribute to the society is not worth pursuing. I disagree with the reason for the claim as well. Even if we were to assume the aforementioned definition of worthy, a selfish dream also leads to betterment of the society. For example, anyone who wants to open a business might be construed as pursuing a selfish goal and hence, not a worthy one. However, we miss the point that it is because of such businesses that we have increased opportunities for employment and it aids in strengthening the economy. Inherently selfish dreams and worthy dreams are not mutually exclusive.

The only part of the claim that I agree with is that one must not give a blanket advice of following your dreams to the young people. It must come with a caveat but the caveat should not be of picking worthy goals, but of picking realistic goals. Young people should be aware of their realities and obstacles before setting out to pursue their dreams. To illustrate this point, let us imagine a young boy who is from a poor socio-economic background. He wants to become an actor but his family is in dire need of money. In such a scenario, advising the young boy to pursue his dream is a foolish advice. He has to account for his financial conditions in order to choose a goal. Advising him to pursue a realistic goal will help him care for his family.

In conclusion, I would like to state that emphasising on realistic goals is more important that pursuing worthy goals. There are no dreams that are purely selfish or worthless as deciding what is worthy is purely a matter of personal opinion.