Some people claim that a nation's government should preserve its wilderness areas in their natural state. Others argue that these areas should be developed for potential economic gain.

Write a response in which you discuss which view more closely aligns with your own position and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should address both of the views presented.

When we are battling climate change and are amidst the sixth mass extinction, the government must take all measures to protect the wilderness areas in their natural state. Since the industrial age, we have been exploiting the environment for our economic gain. This has lead to a life where clean air and water are a luxury. When we decided to work towards saving the planet, we saw a significant rise in sustainable environment friendly innovations. Economic gain and preservation of nature are not a zero sum game. One does not have to come at the cost of other.

Wilderness areas are teeming with biodiversity . Each animal, bird and insect have a crucial role to play in sustaining and survival of the planet. Each and every day around 200 species are getting extinct. Organisations like WWF are working round the clock to save the biodiversity, but the fastest change will happen when the government intervenes. Declaring an area as a national park or a sanctuary enables systems to be put into place to conserve the animals and plants. It also hinders the rate of deforestation in the area.

It is not only about preserving our natural heritage but about saving mankind. Little has been done to mitigate the effects of pollution. Without any plants to soak the harmful gases, we are seeing a gradual change in our climate. Our planet is heating and there is a rise in the number of natural disasters. Consider the role of mangroves in the Mumbai city. Mumbai has mangroves which has been acting as a barrier between the rising sea water and the bustling city. Due to industrial waste being thrown into the water where mangroves grow, mangroves have been dying. Mumbai is marred with heavy rains every year which leads to heavy floods. With nothing to keep the floods in check, people die every year in Mumbai monsoons.

It is not to say that conservation should prohibit development of the people and the economic growth of the country. However, the time has come when economic growth should not be seen differently that environment preservation. Governments should come up with policies and solutions that enable industries to grow while allowing the nature to thrive. It is time for the governments to create markets that aim at sustainable development. When the government see economic growth in conservation, that is when true development will happen.

What is the point of economic development if we do not have a habitable planet? Governments should be responsible for creating nations where clean air and water are not a luxury but a right of every citizen.