Scandals are useful because they focus our attention on problems in ways that no speaker or reformer ever could.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

Every year, our televisions are flooded with news channels flashing ‘breaking news’ of the most recent scandals. Scandals eat up most of the air time on the news channels but the amount of impact it has on the problem is minimum. The memory of a common man is short-lived. A scandal may help bring a spotlight on the problem for a short time but there won’t be any real change if there are no reformers working consistently.

Scandals are tools of slander by powerful people in society. In this information age, it is easy to fabricate and manipulate facts to suit your needs. With so many news sources being influenced by politicians and businessmen, one can not find a single credible source. For example, a politician can spread rumours of a scandal about his/her opponent to garner more votes. It leads to people focussing their attention on a manufactured problem that does not exist.

When any scandal comes forth, all news outlets - television, newspaper, internet, talk about the scandal. They analyze and ask experts their opinion on the topic. The media plays an important role in putting pressure on the government bodies to rightfully serve the people. When the media shifts its attention on scandals, it releases the pressure from other problems. It deviates the attention from more pressing problems that are not as much shocking. For example, a scandal about an actor having an extramarital affair might steal the limelight from the water crisis that has plagued the entire country.

The influence of a speaker or a reformer can not be undermined by the attention a scandal gets. A scandal gets the limelight irrespective of the nature of the scandal. A corruption scandal will get as much attention as an actor’s drug habit. The impact of both the scandals on society is not the same. A speaker/reformer gets to choose the problems that need attention and connect to the people directly. Any change in human behaviour takes time. A speaker/reformer perseveres to bring about that change in society. For example, the attention that Gandhi’s Dandi March got outperforms any scandal in human history.

Despite all its shortcomings, one of the major roles that scandals play is in uncovering corruption, malpractices and sexual violence. It is when such scandal sees the light of the day, it puts the corrupt people behind bars and forces the policies to change. The fast-paced change that is seen can not be achieved by a speaker/reformer. For example, an organisation with a toxic culture is forced to change its sexual harassment policies when a scandal arises.

Scandals are useful because they bring attention to problems that are difficult to bring forth by speakers/reformers. On the other hand, scandals don’t play a pivot role in bringing change in society on all fronts.