The following appeared in a memorandum from the owner of Movies Galore, a chain of video rental stores.

“In order to reverse the recent decline in our profits, we must reduce operating expenses at Movies Galore’s ten video rental stores. Since we are famous for our special bargains, raising our rental prices is not a viable way to improve profits. Last month our store in downtown Marston significantly decreased its operating expenses by closing at 6:00 P.M. rather than 9:00 P.M. and by reducing its stock by eliminating all movies released more than five years ago. Therefore, in order to increase profits without jeopardizing our reputation for offering great movies at low prices, we recommend implementing similar changes in our other nine Movies Galore stores.”

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

As the argument recommends as owner of Movies Galore, raising prices is not a good option, although profits are declining. They should reduce operating hours and it claims that they have received very few customer complaints about these new policies. As a result, they recommend they should now adopt them at all other Movie Galore stores as their best strategies for improving profits. As a result, they hope to resolve this problem with these ways.

First of all, author claims that because of declining profits, they must reduce operating expenses at Movies Galore’s ten movie-rental stores and raising prices is not a good way because they are famous for their low prices. Although this store is famous for its low price, if it is raised in other stores, this store can also raise the price. Therefore the author’s theory is insufficient. We can think about the environment in society.

Secondly, the statement claims that they should reduce their operating hours. If they reduce their time in working they may lose their costumes. If lose some costume make the store profit become less or it become a negative, this way will be wrong and cannot resolve the problem.

Third, it claims to have reduced its overall inventory by no longer stocking any DVDs released more than five years ago. This is a terrible idea if these customers always buy these DVDs from more than five years ago. If their costumes like collecting these old DVDs, and the store gives up these DVDs, they will earn less profit.

Finally, the statement thinks that they have received very few customer complaints about these new policies and should adopt them at all other Movies Galore stores as their best strategies for improving profits. We need more evidence to prove these customers are not against these policies. These customers may not like to complain about these things. We also want to ensure these customers do not buy DVDs from 5 years ago, or if most customers come to this store in 7:00 even if 9:00, these new policies will be unreasonable.

To sum up, they still need more evidences to prove these opinions.