A nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college.

Write a response in which you discuss your views on the policy and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider the possible consequences of implementing the policy and explain how these consequences shape your position.

I strongly disagree with the policy that a nation should require all its students to study the same national curriculum until they reach college. Providing quality education means providing education that is meaningful to the student and his/her aspirations.

Students reside in various parts of the countries and countries are not homogeneous in nature, in terms of the language they speak, level of development in their community or their educational needs. Let us consider India, it is a diverse country. It has more than 150 official languages, all major religions and a rich and varied culture and heritage. Say a student in Meghalaya (a state in India) is studying the national curriculum, will he/she be aware of the language, history and culture of his/her state? When we impose a national curriculum, it does not have the capability to serve the varied needs of a diverse country. It will impart education based on the bigger picture, leaving out the nuances of the community students live in.

The curriculum should be decentralised because a state, a district or a city know about their educational requirements and challenges the best. The national curriculum experts make the curriculum behind closed doors and fail to take into considerations the different challenges faced by different schools and communities. For example, with the rise in technology, the schools see an immediate need of information technology and artificial intelligence in their curriculum. The schools believe this will give the students an edge in the workforce. The schools are stuck in the cog of bureaucracy before a national change is introduced. On the other hand, if the national curriculum introduces information technology in the curriculum but the majority of the schools in villages don’t have access to electricity, infrastructure and skilled teachers, is there really a point to the national curriculum?

Education is most impactful when it is personalised for the students. Mandating all students to go through the same curriculum curbs the freedom of the student to make the best use of his/her education. Enabling students to choose the subjects they want to learn in order to get better education is the key to ensuring quality education. One may think that having a national curriculum will ensure the quality of the curriculum is maintained and the playing field for college admissions is levelled, but because of all the above-mentioned reasons, the playing field is more uneven than ever.

The purpose of education is to enable each child to realise his or her highest potential. If we impose a policy which has a philosophy of one size fits all, we will end up churning robots out of the school.