College students should base their choice of a field of study on the availability of jobs in that field.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

For any student, beginning their college life is a very overwhelming experience. one of the central questions a 18 year old student has to answer is ‘What do I want to do ahead?’. this determines what would they like to study. There are numerous factors that one has to consider before making a choice of a field of study. From these myriad factors that influence the choice, I disagree with the recommendation that college students must give highest importance to the availability of jobs in their field of study.

one has to question why do we go to college? do we go to college to primarily earn money or to build a career that will help us lead a fulfilling life? Superficially, every college graduate will say that their motive is to earn money. it is when these same college graduates become older, they realise that they want a life that is fulfilling. one of the key elements of a fulfilling life is doing meaningful and engaging work. The purpose of college is to enable students to lead a fulfilling life in such a way that they can add value to the society in return. this is only possible when we encourage students to pursue their passion that gives their work meaning. if we encourage everyone to pursue a field which has higher scope of landing a job, we would be devoiding students of a fulfilling and flourishing life. For instance, a students who wants to pursue theatre is pushed to pursue medicine will never be happy in his life.

Furthermore, when people realise later in their lives where their passion lies, they try to shift their career. Sometimes to do this, people have to enrol back in college or do a short term course. going to college twice is more expensive than going once. when one has to shift their career, one has to face loss of time and money. In addition, people have to also a face a lot of emotion turmoil when they make the shift. All of this can be avoided if one is not pressured into selecting a field whose only purpose is to help them to easily land a job.

if we encourage a culture where college students are basing their choice on external motivators like job availability, we are killing the culture that encourages students to explore, innovate and discover fearlessly. once upon a time, computer science was not a very lucrative field because of it’s nascent stage. it was when college drop outs like Bill Gates ventured into the technology space and innovated, we saw the booming technology industry. college students should be provided with the support system that enables them to pursue their passion and be the pioneers in their field.

one can not deny that for a lot of college graduates, it is important to earn money first. it is the need for the hour for them or their family. In such scenarios, it might not be advisable for them to pursue risky endeavours. it might be beneficial for them to assess the pursuit that will help them earn money faster. In such a case, the college graduate must pick a field of study based on the job availability in that field.

In summary, college graduates must factor in their passion as well as the realities of their lives before choosing a field of study. it is important to acknowledge the intrinsic motivators, i.e passion, socio-economic conditions, and financial conditions before you take the plunge into college.