The best way to teach is to praise positive actions and ignore negative ones.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Communication is key in shaping human behaviour. The feedback we recieve from those around us determine how will we behave in the future. We have been hardwired to react to sticks and carrots since we were born. Infants learn appropriate behaviour by reading reactions around them. A smiling adult reinforces the baby’s behaviour whereas a reprimanding adult signals the baby that the behaviour was inappropriate. The statement claims that the best way to teach is to praise positive actions and ignore negative actions. I am in partial agreement with the statement. I agree that to teach we need to praise positive actions but I strongly disagree that we need to ignore negative ones.

Praising positive actions leads to positive reinforcement. It communicates to the group what model behaviour looks like and what is expected from them. Consider a classroom situation, one of the best and easiest classroom strategy is to praise the positive actions. When a teacher asks the students to close their books and take their seats, she/he praises the students who follow the instructions promptly. Hoping to gain the same positive reinforcement, all the other students follow.

The way positive actions outlines the model behaviour for the group, acknowledging negative ones outlines the non-negotiable behaviour. It makes it clear that negative actions have consequences in real life. Let us take an example of the classroom situation again. For instance, a teacher is teaching the class and there is one student who is misbehaving. If the teacher praises the positive actions of the class for keeping quiet or for reading their books, it is not going to serve the purpose. The students are not being communicated that there are consequences for breaking the rules. If we are to teach the students that every action has a consequence, we must reprimand the negative actions as well.

On the other hand, there are instances when one has to ignore the negative actions. This is normally done under the pretext of giving people second chances. Consider a workplace scenario, it is not necessary to highlight every negative action that takes place. It is beneficial when the negative actions are ignored. However, ignoring negative actions only work when there is an implicit understanding of the mistake. The best way to teach students is to find a balance between praising positive actions and reprimanding negative ones. If one is constantly praising the positive action or reprimanding the negative ones, the reinforcement will lose its value. Balance is key.

I believe it will do more harm that good if we only praise the positive actions and ignore the negative ones. Hence, there has to be a balance in teaching through sticks and carrots.