To understand the most important characteristics of a society, one must study its major cities.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Society is a group of people who live together in a more or less orderly manner. If we want to understand the most important characteristics of a society, it is imperative to consider all the facets that constitute society.

A society consists of the urban and rural population. The lifestyle and the ideologies of urban and rural areas differ vastly. In India, more than 70 percent of the population resides in rural areas. It’s major cities, though having a high population density, comprises of only 30 percent of the Indian population. If one were to only study the major cities, one would come to believe that India has only a handful of languages. However, the truth is that in India, one finds a new dialect or a new language in every town or a village. Thus, studying only some parts would not give us a holistic view and the nuances of society.

An important element of society is interdependency. There is not a single major city in the world that can thrive in silos. We, in cities, are dependent on the farmers in the villages, for our very basic necessities of food. In the southern states of India, the food is served on banana leaves and rice is an important part of the cuisine, whereas if one was to travel the northern parts of India, they would find delicacies made of wheat. The food people eat predominantly defines the culture of the society. Understanding the elements of society would need us to understand the relationships different components have with each other.

I agree, with the part of the statement, that we must study the major cities. The ideologies of the masses in major cities drive the news in the media. The media, in turn, influences the masses of society. If there is a major religion divide in the cities, the news coverage would show a lot of stories of religious violence and this, in turn, will gradually affect the entire society.

Understanding the parts to get a complete picture is crucial to study the most important characteristics of society. Hence, we must consider both the urban and rural societies.