To understand the most important characteristics of a society, one must study its major cities.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

I can only agree with part of this statement. There are some reasons in the following paragraphs.

First of all, people always get some impression from major cities in other Country. These cities include New York City in United States, Toronto in Canada, Sydney in Australia, Beijing and Shanghai in China, etc. These cities have some common characteristics, such as developed economy, open for all the countries, have beautiful scenery and famous tour cities, etc. Some important features are infant rate and death rate, average lifetime etc, they are unwise. From this city lists, you can found that New York City have people from all the country, there are too many different customs and it can only represent part of America. In fact there are so many different style states in USA. New York, Toronto, Sydney, Shanghai etc, these almost mean freedom. If you want to look for the most important characteristics of a society, you should to research smaller cities.

Secondly, if you try understand health level from these major cities, it might not accurate. Because the air pollution is very serious in some big cities. The air pollution in New York City is more serious than other cities, but it cleaner than Beijing or other major city. Some people have not very well health in seriously pollution area.

Finally, as everyone knows, Shanghai is a developed city and China is a developing country. If you only study Shanghai, you will cannot understand some under low-income cities. In fact the major cities are special case.

To sum up, we should study these major cities and these cities are representative, but if people want to understand the most important characteristics of a society, only study these cities is not enough.