Some people believe that corporations have a responsibility to promote the wellbeing of the societies and environments in which they operate. Others believe that the only responsibility of corporations, provided they operate within the law, is to

make as much money as possible. Write a response in which you discuss which view more closely aligns with your

own position and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should address both of the views presented.

The views presented in the argument calls upon the question of responsibility of the corporations. Is it to be a responsible member of the society and partake in the goal of making it a better place to live? Or Is it to ensure that the corporation makes as much money as possible, provided their business is legally operating? Between the two, I agree the most with the view that corporations should act as a responsible society member and contribute to its well-being.

There is not a single element of the society that works in a silo. Each element has an effect on the other elements. Similarly, corporations don’t work in a bubble that only mints money. They way corporations work affects all of us. If any corporation is not actively prioritizing the well-being of their community, most likely than not, they would be harming the society and environment in which they operate. This is best illustrated by the example of Facebook. Facebook did not actively try to monitor the way their algorithm affects the content that is published on it, or to put it bluntly, they did not think about the well-being of their users. As a result, the unmonitored content that gets published on Facebook gets misused by extremist groups to spread their propoganda and hatred in the community. This has lead to disastrous results like swaying the results of an election. Even if the corporations only want to make money, they can not shirk away the responsibilities that come with the great powers they hold in today’s society.

On the contrast, a lot of people hold the view that it is the responsibility of the law and policy makers to ensure the well-being of the society. Hence, corporations should only worry about operating within the law. In an ideal scenario, we would be living in a world where our laws and policies are perfect and adaptable enough to catch up with changes in the society we live in. In such a situation, corporations would not have to concern themselves with the well-being as there would be systems in place to ensure that. However, we do not live in an ideal world and our laws are far from perfect. Thus, in reality, even when corporations run within the laws (which have a lot of loop holes), they still can damage the societies and the environment. Consider the technological space in the current era, with the technology changing at such a fast pace, there aren’t laws in place in a lot of countries for most of the obstacles we face, such as, data privacy. Corporations would be selling our personal data and it would still be considered legal because there isn’t a law about it, but none of us would consider it an ethical practise.

In conclusion, it is the corporation’s responsibility to take care of the people around them as we live in an increasingly interconnected world. When corporations leave the well-being to the law makers, they are just getting around the loop holes of the law to make money and shirk away their responsibilities.