Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Children today would be happier if they had fewer possessions. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

The statement talks about the relationship between a child’s happiness and the number of his/her possessions. Personally, I agree that children with less possessions would be happier than children with more possessions. I believe this for two reasons, which we will explore in the essay.

First of all, when children have a less number of possessions, they understand the value of each one of them. On the contrary, when children have too many possessions, they struggle to learn to keep their them safe. Moreover, when these children grow up, they find it difficult to manage and value their possessions, like their money or their expensive gadgets. For instance, when my nephew was younger, his parents always got him new toys to play with. They didn’t think it was a big deal that he broke his new toys in a week’s time. When he grew older, he asked for an expensive guitar, and his parents got one for him. Unfortunately, due to his childhood habits, he ended up breaking the guitar in a month’s time. As a result, I feel that to help children understand the value, they must be given fewer possessions.

Secondly, when a child has limited belongings, he/she is bound to learn how to share them. When children share their belongings with other children, they increase the chances of strengthening their friendships. When these positive habits of sharing are nurtured in childhood, children end up growing to become giving individuals. For example, my most cherished childhood memories is when I and my friends used to gather at my house to play with our dolls. Each one of us would get our dolls and play make-believe for hours on end. Due to this strong connection with sharing my dolls with my friends, when I grew older, I decided to donate my dolls to the nearest orphanage. Hence, I believe that with less number of belongings, the parents ensure that their child becomes more social and caring in his/her life.

In conclusion, I am of the opinion that when our children have lesser number of possessions, they are happier because they understand the value of their possessions and they are encouraged to share and give what they have.