Independent essay

Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Children today would be happier if they had fewer possessions. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

In the modern 21st century our children have access to all goods they want to receive, and these goods have become some kind of substitution for real life. Personally, I believe that to make your kids happier it is necessary to restrict their possessions. I feel this way for several reasons, which I will explore in the following essay.

To begin with, the marketing around goods for kids is so strong, and the proliferation of such kind of advertisements takes inordinate scale. Hence, our children have focused too much on the good they possessed. For instance, let's take just one good - a smartphone. All most all children in my country have their own smartphones. And they spend hours just watching YouTube and surfing social networks. Moreover, this behavior is promoted in movies and cartoons, such as produced by Disney company. I definitely think that our children are compelled to use this type of device, and your responsibility, as parents, is to limit their usage of it and show the beauty and splendor of the real world to our descendants.

Secondly, I know many families where communication among kin is just performed in form of providing gifts. As a result, children have a lot of goods but do not have real proximity to their relatives. My personal experience is a compelling illustration of it. My father is a very busy man. He is focused on his work and has a rather good salary. Therefore, my brother and I have received very expensive gifts and have almost all we want. Unfortunately, our father does not really have time for my brother and me. For me, this is a blatantly rigged relationship, and to make it better it is reasonable just exclude good from this relationship.

In conclusion, I strongly believe that the fewer additional goods our children have the happier they are. This is because it will help to refocus our kind of real life, and, additionally, will lead to a more cohesive relationship among relatives.