Which is more important for a leader: the ability to win an argument about issues, or the ability to help others come to an agreement about issues? Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

In the modern 21st century a leader is the person who inspires other people to do something magnificent. Personally, I believe that to do so a leader should focus on supporting others, especially in the negotiation processes. I feel this way for several reasons, which I will explore in the following essay.

To begin with, for me a leader is a communicator and facilitator of the processes within companies or communities. And to have authority and weight among your colleagues you, as a leader, should take into account their opinions. It lets them feel involved in the decision-making process and therefore generate more innovative ideas and suggestions. In contrast, when a leader tries to be just right in any case, it demotivates the team and makes members feel frustrated about their impact on final outcome. Could we use an amazing Google search engine or the new iPhone 12, if these companies' leaders followed the rule that to win an argument is better than agreed on an argument? No, and , for me, this answer is obvious.

Secondly, to have the best results it is necessary that all people participated in the tasks be heard and share the solution. My experience is a compelling illustration of this. When I, as a project manager, was assigned a new sophisticated project, that should have been done in a short period, I prepared the plan and introduced it to the team. I was sure that it was a great plane that would lead us to success. Unfortunately, no one, except me, thought so. That is why I organized a brainstorming session to discuss the approach and to come to an agreement about the project. As a result, everyone accepted the new plan and committed to making the most to meet the deadline.

In conclusion, I strongly believe that a good leader helps others to agree. This is because it allows people to show their best, and, additionally, only decisions shared by others have a chance to be realized as planned.