The following appeared in a memo from the vice president of a food distribution company with food storage warehouses in several cities.

"Recently, we signed a contract with the Fly-Away Pest Control Company to provide pest control services at our warehouse in Palm City, but last month we discovered that over $20,000 worth of food there had been destroyed by pest damage. Meanwhile, the Buzzoff Pest Control Company, which we have used for many years in Palm City, continued to service our warehouse in Wintervale, and last month only $10,000 worth of the food stored there had been destroyed by pest damage. Even though the price charged by Fly-Away is considerably lower, our best means of saving money is to return to Buzzoff for all our pest control services."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

While it may seem a good idea to move to Buzzoff Pest control to save money, the argument is rife with numerous flaws. The claim is based on unwarranted assumptions that render the argument highly suspect. If these assumptions are proven to be false, the argument would completely fall apart.

Firstly, the argument assumes that both the warehouses where working under the same conditions. There is a possibility that there was a storm or a flood in Palm City in the last month whereas the weather in Wintervale was sunny. Losses must be compared when the conditions are identical in both the warehouses. To make a stronger recommendation, the vice president must ask about the weather conditions and other factors that affect the quality of the warehouse.

Secondly, the argument compares absolute values of losses rather than proportion of losses incurred by the warehouse.It is unclear how much dollar worth food was stored in the warehouses. For example, if the warehouse stored food worth 1 billion dollars, the loss is 0.02%. On the other hand, if the warehouse stored food worth $50,000, the loss is 40%. It is very easy to misunderstand data when the context is missing. The vice president needs to gather information about the food stored in both the warehouses and compare the proportion of losses to strengthen his/her argument.

Moreover, apart from assuming similar conditions of the city, the arguments extends to assume similar conditions in the warehouses. To assess the quality of the pest control, it is imperative to have information on how much of the food was susceptible to pest. Consider an instance where the warehouse in Wintervale stores a lot of packed foods that are impervious to pests and the warehouse in Palm City stores a huge amount of fresh products. Gathering information on the composition of the warehouse will assist the vice president in making a sound decision.

Considering all the above facts, the vice president must gather information on the conditions on the city, total amount of food stored and the composition of the food stored. He/she must be cautious of making the decision based on a flawed and misleading argument.