Educational institutions have a responsibility to dissuade students from pursuing fields of study in which they are unlikely to succeed.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

The role of educational institutes in society is manifold. The statement rightly claims that the educational institution is responsible to influence the young minds to choose a field that has more chance of success. I believe that the primary responsibility of the educational institutes is to make sure that the people who are entering the workforce lead a flourishing life and they add value to the society they live in. According to Martin Seligmann, a pioneer in the positive psychology, an unoppressed person leads a flourishing life only when they feel positive emotions, are engaged, have positive relationships, have meaning and have a sense of achievement. Being successful in your career fulfils three of the five requirements of a flourishing life - being engaged, having a sense of meaning and having a sense of achievement. Hence, the responsibility of ensuring that the students prosper lies on the shoulders of the educational institutes.

Educational institutes owe to each student that enters their premises that they develop an environment and a curriculum that helps each student reach their greatest potential. For example, a student who has a strong affinity towards theatre is never going to reach his/her greatest potential if he/she is enrolled in an engineering course. The student might be able to pass through college but he/she might not be happy in their life. A society can flourish when its members are flourishing.

Moreover, when a student opts for a course where they are unlikely to succeed, they are more likely to drop out. There are two scenarios once a student drops out - they will stop their educational journey or they will enrol into another course that aligns with their interest. In both the scenarios, there is a huge loss of time and money, which could have been avoided if they were dissuaded from pursuing the course in the first place.

The downside of filtering the students based on the probability of their success in the field is that educational institutes might use this as a tool to wrongfully deny admissions to deserving students. A basic filter used to admit students in institutes is their grades. Grades don’t provide a holistic picture of a student’s personality. For example, a student could not do well in their exams due to personal loss that affected them deeply. This tragedy might haunt them in future as they will be denied entry into the course of their interest.

In addition, not everyone is born with an epiphany of what their passion is, a lot of us develop that interest as we go through our college. One of the major factors of success is the interest in the course. Determining the chance of success before the student has entered college is a slippery slope. The educational institutes should focus on how to develop students’ interests by creating an enriching and engaging courses.

The path to make sure that all students are the right fit for the field needs a lot more work and contemplation. Educational institutes should focus their efforts on ensuring that students add value to society.