Educational institutions have a responsibility to dissuade students from pursuing fields of study in which they are unlikely to succeed.Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and suppo

Throughout the world, education has never ceased to draw public attention and provoke debates. Although many people believe that educational institutes play a vital role in students’ careers, the issue as to whether those institutes should intervene in students' future objectives or not remains controversial. To the best of my knowledge, I disagree with the opinion education institutions are responsible to impede students from following majors that they are not likely to be successful.

First, each student has different talents and potentials. Moreover, their traits are dynamic and could evolve while learning in schools, socializing or exploring the environment. For example, Steve Jobs, co-founder of Apple, was apparently indifferent to school for a long period until he met his fourth-grade teacher, Imogene Teddy Hill; she helped him develop focus towards learning by bribing him with candy and it did not take long for Jobs to get interested in learning after that; in the following years, Steve Jobs got increasingly curious about the world of electronics and from there started his journey building Apple. Therefore, educational institutions should embrace students instead of discouraging them.

Second, the definition of success is vague and not the same for every person. Many wish to become well-rounded individual but others might have disparate goals. To illustrate, President Abraham Lincoln wanted to eliminate slavery or Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. fought to abolish racial discrimination. For that reason, students walk different paths to their success and education institutions could not compel their subjective opinion on students. This might affect negatively their development process and prevent them to try something new.

Finally, it is important to recognise that schools are usually the places for teaching new knowledge. Many may argue that teachers should focus on playing instructor role. This argument could be true to some extent. However, they should take into account the fact that teachers also could be an inspirer. For instance, Oprah Winfrey was an ordinary girl in rural Mississippi, she could have been stuck there for the rest of her life if she did not meet Mrs. Duncan, her fourth-grade teacher; Mrs. Duncan saw potential in Oprah, encouraged her to read and gave her advice to choose books; eventually, Oprah Winfrey is now a successful talk show host. Therefore, educational institutions should be inspirational place to nurture students and help them reach their potentials.

In conclusion, it is true that educational institutions impact on students’ careers but taking all the above mentioned reasons, they should not interfere with students' future goals.