Educational institutions have a responsibility to dissuade students from pursuing fields of study in which they are unlikely to succeed.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position

According to the speaker the students can avoid the particular field of study where they do not succeed.I would say that this partially can be supported but there are various advantages and disadvantages which can effect the future and career which can lead them to difficulties later if they work in that field.

Firstly,The curriculum of any educational institution is designed in such a way that it could help the students well prepared and an idea which helps them in the later field of either working or higher studies.If they don't pursue the basics then it would be difficult for them to directly learn the advanced level like for example,Most of the schools in india has computer as a elective subject so people choose the easier subjects just to pass but later all the learning is about the computer evolution which effects the students lacking in the field.

Secondly,Although students are not succeeding ever after giving number of attempts to get better in that particular field then they have the right to come out of it.However this could again come in their life at some point in future where they have to pay and learn courses to perform in the field.For example,A survey which was conducted in most of the colleges that students take the least prominent subjects just to score marks and while working most of the students have less knowledge and do not perform as they didn't pursue in depth of the that particular course of study.

Thirdly,The affective way to help students learn and succeed well instead of omitting it can be done by providing some good teaching and learning experience by the institutions and also provide some extra videos or any materials which can help them benefit more.If they don't succeed then alternative way like conducting some projects or giving an additional instructors to such students could help gain both knowledge and interest to the students.

In the conclusion,From my point view would say that helping the student gain knowledge is the only work for the educational institutions in order to make them succeed and help them perform good in every field of study and make them have a bright future rather than leaving the course if they do not succeed.