Educational institutions have a responsibility to dissuade students from pursuing fields of study in which they are unlikely to succeed.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

Education is the bedrock of every society. Schools are places where students are groomed, and also where their inherent skills are enhanced. However, it is not uncommon for the choice of ones area of discipline to be an issue of deliberation.

In my opinion, i mostly disagree with the suggestion that educational institutions have the responsibility to persuade students from pursuing certain fields and argue students play a vital role in decision making for three reasons.

First of all, students in a school, always have teachers whom they look up to for certain decisions. Most of the times, these tutors persuade them on subjects to take which they think will lead them to the path of success, and this is as a result of their experiences in life and the job prospects. For instance, a math teacher who teaches a class of 25 students, always leads discussions with her students where she emphasizes on them paying great attention to sciences, because she thinks it guarantees them a brighter future. Actually a student will not know much about the areas which will lead to success as he has little or no experience.

Secondly, it is the duty of the academic institutions to bolster the students in whatever aspect they choose and improve on it, instead of compelling children to adhere to what they assume as successful.The job market is ever shifting, which means that one booming job today may be the least lucrative tomorrow. For example, ten years ago, the oil and gas industry was booming, hence there was a plethora of jobs, so much so that alot of people decided to study engineering or engineering related courses so as to benefit from the industry. therefore it was termed as being a successful area of study. Recently that has not been the case. Nevertheless, the above example emphasizes that no particular field of study is permanently seen a successful as there can be a downturn.

Thirdly, it is not the role of the academic institutions to coax their scholars on what area to specialize in, as they practically do not know what the future holds. For example, a student who has a passion and flair for arts, singing but also performs well in sciences was advised by his teacher to focus on sciences, so he can forge ahead and soon become a successful engineer, because she assumes that focusing on the path of arts will not be lucrative, not considering the fact that as of today some of the most fortunate people are those who followed their passion and the love they have for arts.

In other words, it is the duty of the institution to guide the student in the path he shows more interest in, rather than impose a particular field of study on him. there is a saying that passion drives innovation and innovation drives success. Besides the field of study which may be productive today may not be that lucrative today, hence it is best to follow ones passion, as that will carve a niche in such times.

In conclusion, it is best to follow ones passion rather than the path which some educational institution dissuades their students to choose, because doing that brings out the best in a person, and enables one carve out a niche for himself as there are times when the so-called successful careers may not be so lucrative.