Some people believe that corporations have a responsibility to promote the well-being of the societies and environments in which they operate. Others believe that the only responsibility of corporations, provided they operate within the law, is to make as much money as possible.

Write a response in which you discuss which view more closely aligns with your own position and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should address both of the views presented.

The issue of social responsibility by corporations is a complex topic.Although companies are not mandated by the government to carry out Social responsibilities, however these are acts of appreciation, which make the host communities more affable. Social responsibilities are usually part of the bond companies sign with communities in which they propose to carry out business, which is a principle of giving back, by improving the society in some way, hence both parties benefit. The prompt asserts that some people that corporations have the responsibility to promote the well-being of the societies and environments in which they operate. In my opinion, I strongly agree with this suggestion, for three reasons below.

First of all, embracing social responsibility policy goes a long way for companies who practice it as it gives an edge over their competitors.

For instance, an oil and gas company carried out some oil and gas operations somewhere in Nigeria, where they caused oil spill in the process of their operations, owing to the fact that they were committed to going a step further by considering the social factor, they immediately took care of the spill situation.

Restoring the land back to its pristine state and maintaining a good relationship with the community.

Secondly, social responsibility which is basically giving back to the people can boost a companies social profile, which eventually leads to more revenue. Every corporation goes into business with the aim of increasing their income, therefore taking part in social responsibility can increase respect for the corporation in the market place, hence resulting in higher sales. For example, an oil servicing company which has its operational office situated in a rural area in a community with no schools to educate its citizens, decides to build schools as one of its contribution to the society. This will bring about development in the community which in turn will improve the image of the company to not only their present customers or inhabitants of the place but to its potential clients. Thus bringing about profit increment as the company will become more recognized for its philanthropic investments.

Thirdly, while organizations are on the look out to make alot of profit, they also are expected to give back to the communities where they operate. For example, an oil and gas company drilling oil for oil and natural gas, is expected to have alot of staff to execute the job, some of which may not necessarily require experience, which will cost them alot of funds, whereas they are looking out to minimize expenditure where possible which means cheap labor. If they hire some of the locals, thus empowering them, that will cut down on the amount they will spend in paying the workers and will also be their contribution to the society.

In conclusion, the act of social responsibilities by companies is necessary to build the brand of their companies socially and otherwise and, also give them advantage over their competitors.