Some people believe that corporations have a responsibility to promote the well-being of the societies and environments in which they operate. Others believe that the only responsibility of corporations, provided they operate within the law, is to make as much money as possible.

Write a response in which you discuss which view more closely aligns with your own position and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should address both of the views presented.

Contemporary companies usually are propitious to the society. This is because - although it selling their goods to consumers is their main virtue - without contribution to the society the public will disregard the company's products, especially for foreign companies trying to broaden their market abroad.

Admittedly, a company's main goal is to earn more profit. It would be ridiculous to promote CEOs that are not interested in making money because the employees would want the company to advance so that their position within the society rises as well. Obviously, companies that are more financially successful are also the ones that are able to provide a larger salary to the employees as well as a better reputation from their colleagues. For instance, to workers contributing in NGOs tend to be abstinent due to the fact that their corporations are not focused in making progress in the finances, rather they focus on the good being of the society, which requires sacrifice from their workers to truly meet their goals.

Nevertheless, a corporation that does not take the societies advancement into account may cause numerous problems. Entrepreneurs can have significant effects on the society by the products they bring to the world as well as the process to produce the products, and if either of these seem problematic, the public will show dissent towards the company. Hence, the company may fail to flourish. For instance, in the late 20th century Nike was indicted for exploiting child labor to manufacture soccer balls. It was patent that they did not care for the children who should be receiving proper education and that they were blinded by making more profit. However, after the incidents, people started to ignore Nike and their products so they faced huge sale and stock decreases. After that they had to change their company's policy to not take advantage of impertinent labor: the process was important to the public as well as the product to attract customers.

Furthermore, this yardstick towards a good process is especially strict to foreign companies trying to enter the local market. If the company is incompetent to provide any propitious effects to the community, the people will likely disregard the corporation. For instance, Starbucks was able to success globally by advertising that they donate a part of their profit to the developing countries: this act constructed the notion that by consuming Starbucks coffee oneself is contributing to the world, and thus enabling them to enter foreign markets with ease. Had it not been for this image, local people would have likely preferred their own brands of coffee instead, considering the effects it has on their economy.

In conclusion, although the main objective of a corporation is to make profit so that their workers can prosper, overlooking the negative consequences within the process would be a fallacy to watch out for. Moreover, this standard could be more stringent to foreign companies.