Governments should focus on solving the immediate problems of today rather than on trying to solve the anticipated problems of the future.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

The contemporary society contains countless problems for the government to take care of with such limited finances that it is nearly impossible to figure out which ones should be met first. A sound approach to this conundrum would be for developing countries to focus on short term problems while the developed country focuses more on the long term ones.

Admittedly, since the budget of a nation is limited, sometimes even scarce for developing countries, they should prioritize the myopic problems. Problems such as poverty, epidemics, getting a clean water source, unemployment, lack of education all are serious problems that should be addressed by the government. It would be illogical to relegate government officials who overlook these situations of the country. Particularly, in North Korea people are suffering from severe destitute that they try running away to China or South Korea because they think that the government is incompetent and unable to solve poverty. Therefore, the governments of developing nations should invest on these imminent problems for the society to stabilize and make progress.

On the contrary, developed countries are relatively free from these imminent problems. Although it can be argued that poverty is still a extant problem even in the most prolific nations, these governments possess a surfeit budget to address the long term problems like the environmental problems or energy deficiency problems. Especially in the case of environmental problems, it would be effective to solve or mitigate the issue a soon as possible because the problem will get harder to solve as time passes. In addition, the lack of energy sources due to the limited natural resources should be considered right away because even in this moment, resources are getting closer to depletion. Hence, developed countries should focus on these problems that may take a longer time to resolve.

Finally, there are countries that require a harmonious budget allocation on both kinds of problems. Countries that are in the process of becoming a developed country from developing countries - Korea for example - should consider developing the industry and economy of the nation as well as invest in conservative technology. Korea is neither developed enough to concentrate on environmental issues, or is it wealthy enough to ignore the economy and poverty issues. All in all, some countries should find a good balance for their budget implementation.

In conclusion, the countries should decide their budget plan based on their national status.