When old buildings stand on ground that modern planners feel could be better used for modern purposes, modern development should be given precedence over the preservation of historic buildings.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Major cities of contemporary society incorporate the traditional buildings as well as the modern ones. The precedence over which building should be built should be decided by considering the merits it can bring to the city.

Admittedly, the destruction of a traditional building may favor the city in many ways. Historical monuments may be in the way of development or progress, and should be replaced by modern ones in such cases. In the case a traditional building possesses minute value to the nation, while causing significant traffic problems, it may be removed to absolve the issue: Seoul for example, traffic congestion was mitigated after removing some historic buildings in the center of the city. Hence, if the removal of old monuments may facilitate the progress and development of cities.

Moreover, buildings representing humiliation of a nation should be replaced by modern ones. In Korea, in the period of Japanese imperialism, they built a administrative building to resemble the dominance over the peninsula. However, after regaining independence, Koreans dismantled the building and constructed in it's place a modern administrative building to show their right to govern their own people. To look at the bright future of the nation and forget about the dark past, replacing of historical buildings could be a good place to start.

Nevertheless, some historic buildings should not be replaced, but preserved to enhance the economy. Historic monuments are a key attraction for tourists since because of the symbol and meaning it contains within it, visitors are able to gain insight into the foreign culture by examining it. Clearly, more tourists mean more money. For instance, the JaKum palace in China is a symbolic artifact showing the preeminence of the historic Chinese empire. Millions of people are fascinated by this grandiose palace, and visit to spend foreign money in China which is a core part of the cities income.

In conclusion, replacing anachronistic buildings should be encouraged if the building is hampering with the cities advancement or, arouses bad memories in the history. However, some prominent ones should be saved to help the finances of the district.