The luxuries and conveniences of contemporary life prevent people from developing into truly strong and independent individuals.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

It is true that the luxuries and technologies have developed in a unprecedented pace, thus hindering some human cognitive abilities. However, we could not deny that the advancement in technology has enabled us to solve problems that were considered impossible in the past.

Admittedly, for people who cannot afford luxuries, these products may take them down to ruins. Although luxuries may be a way to express one's social position, it would be unreasonable to purchase such products if you are financially incompetent. The addiction to luxuries may lead to materialism. These people have a disposition to express themselves by their possessions rather than their abilities. For instance, Sleepy a Korean singer is well known for his love of luxuries: he sold his house to afford a Rolex watch and is now living day by day to absolve his dept. Hence, people should show self-discipline whether they are too into these extravagant materials.

Furthermore, because technological inventions are available within the reach of our hands, we utilize it instead of thinking for ourselves. The epitome of this syndrome is the usage of calculators in elementary schools. Instead of teaching students how to add, subtract and multiply, contemporary educators focus on teaching how to use a calculator. This foils the student's numerical abilities which is essential for logical thinking. Another example is automobiles that are rampant in our streets. Modern workers use cars to move even short distances resulting in diabetes, obesity and not to mention a lack of leg muscles. Consequently, the everyday inventions have deteriorated our abilities as humans.

Nevertheless, due to the unprecedented development of technology, we have been able to solve problems that were considered enigmatic. For instance, with the development of general purpose graphic processing units - a top notch calculator inside a computer - computer engineers have been able to make a major breakthrough in artificial intelligence: the Deep Learning which has countless applications from image classification to natural language processing. Therefore, asseverations that technology has compromised the human intellect would be derogatory. Rather, there are some discipline where these paramount innovations help push the intellectual boundaries of humans further.

In conclusion, luxuries may have severe consequences when penurious people are to enjoy them and technology in some aspects has debilitated our cognition. Nonetheless, technology still helps us in delving into the unknown further.