The luxuries and conveniences of contemporary life prevent people from developing into truly strong and independent individuals.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

The luxuries have people feel a sense of inferiority, thus, weakening people’s

ability. Furthermore, the more people use machinery, the more people come to

depend on machinery. However, the luxuries and conveniences could be helpful

to people’s modern life in various aspects such as saving time and displaying

individual abilities.

Admittedly, in case of people who have no economic ability, the luxury

products might bring about their ruin. Although the luxuries are one of the

indirect methods reflecting people’s ability and success, those who are not rich

enough to buy the high price goods should have no interest in the goods. The

addiction to luxurious goods makes people the slave of materialism. People are

apt to express themselves with those additional materialistic things rather than

with their own abilities. Luxuries doing harm to retaining humans’ capabilities may

not only regard themselves as unable and weak but also lose wills to improve

themselves. In this way, the luxuries make general people not so much

independent human beings as slaves to the luxuries.

In addition, too much dependence on conveniences can make human

abilities weak. In case of a calculator, although an electric calculator is a useful

tool, it is also true that calculators can diminish people’s basic numerical abilities

gradually by no longer using their brain. Today, the standards of literacy have

increased, whereas the standards of numeracy have decreased. Also,

in the event that people go to the nearest place by cars, cars can make them

weaker and cause both traffic congestion and global warming. Therefore, habitual

reliance on convenient implements would finally deprive people of their

independent ability to work out problems, even trivial ones with which they are

always faced in life.

On the other hand, the luxuries would sometimes be good methods to

express people’s individuality more clearly. Celebrities-movie and sports

stars-are willing to wear expensive clothes and to use the most expensive car in

order to show off their social status and success to the public more impressively

and strongly. For example, David Beckham, the British footballer, who made

about 48,200,000 dollars in 2008, flaunted his wealth by giving a

bag of about 200,000 dollars to Victoria Beckham. By wearing expensive dresses,

such actresses as Jessica Marie Alba, Angelina Jolie Voight, and Paris Whitney

Hilton appear on Oscar nights, thus helping enhance their reputation as well as

Oscar’s prestige. This example shows that the luxuries have advantages to make

people stronger.

Moreover, technological innovation has produced lots of conveniences that

develop human abilities. In the past, there were many limitations of the human

intellectual abilities without using mechanical instruments. However, nowadays

calculators help people solve numerical calculations in much shorter time with

great accuracy. Moreover, computer programs whose functions are designed for

various purposes can provide people with more compound abilities to solve all

kinds of jobs. Contemporary amenities also allow us to utilize our

high-level qualities more efficiently by saving us time and labor. The most obvious

example would be transportations. Owing to cars and planes, people can cover

broader area within rather quick time, thus making people more productive.

Furthermore, all kinds of home appliances have made modern women deal not

only with house chores but also with outside jobs. In this sense, showing their

great talents, people can become more independent.

In sum, although it is true to some extent that the negative effects of the luxuries

and conveniences produce serious damages such as reducing basic logical

thinking abilities and having a sense of inferiority, both in modern society can

allow some people to be independent and strong. If they would control both good

and bad influences of the luxuries and conveniences better, people could make

good individuals by using these two methods more effectively.