Essay topic 24: The luxuries and conveniences of contemporary life prevent people from developing into truly strong and independent individuals.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Advent of technology has provided people with numerous facilities which have made the contemporary life very luxurious and comfortable so that people are highly attached to them even for simple tasks of daily life. I concede with the assertion that modern life has turned people to dependent individuals and prevented them from being their real independent ones.

First, development of technology has made the contemporary life much easier. Invention of electronic devices such as automobiles and remote controls has turned people into dependent lax individuals. People use automobiles to travel long distances in a short time with less energy. Developing technology also provided various types of conserved foods later that have lost their original nutrition affecting their health in long run. In addition, people used to have organic foods and get their food supplies in person whereas contemporary people shop all their needs online. Besides, as population is growing, more food supplies must be furnished. Hence, the organic food cannot simply be accessible to everyone and people have to consume the chemical grown foods and fruits.

In addition, development of various utilities could indicate mental state of addition. Some people go to extremes and tend to have luxury facilities to emulate with others and in some cases they find relief in shopping. For instance, if any new products like automobiles, smart phones, etc. are presented to the market, they are willing to have them. These people are psychologically addicted to the latest trends of new products and if they do not reach them, they suffer from depression and lack of self confidence.

However, we cannot neglect the fact that the comfort and advance of contemporary life has provided fruitful opportunities for people in different areas like communicating, working and shopping online. People can communicate easily throughout the world and work for organizations in long distances without taking the burden of spending long hours commuting to workplaces. Also, online shopping has made it possible to use time efficiently for people with tight schedule to save their time. The advancement of technology has helped humans make their dream and plans implemented like constructing magnificent skyscrapers with comfortable facilities and high tech cars.

In conclusion, technology impedes people to be independent individuals and it threatens their physical and mental health in some cases like overusing automobiles and consuming conserved foods and finding relief in shopping unnecessary goods. Yet, technology makes life much easier like communicating, working and shopping online to realize their dreams