Essay topic 12: A nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the

claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling

reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

Students form the critical part of a nation’s population that require a comprehensive and practical curriculum at schools. Therefore, nations should offer a uniform national curriculum before students enter undergraduate programs while providing some reasonable freedom in such curriculum to increase the effectiveness of the educational system.

First, setting a uniform national curriculum would equip students with fundamental skills and knowledge which help them be productive and reasonably informed as well as develop their societal and behavioral skills that are integral for nurturing students’ life. Besides, uniform curriculum can determine foundations upon which colleges are able to design and select course materials aligned with the educational purposes to prepare students for their field of study in undergraduate programs. For example, as students learn basic concepts in math at high school, colleges can easily design the required math materials for engineering students.

Moreover, the common curriculum could benefit students who move from one school to another. They have to follow the same educational materials and courses. Teachers also find such a curriculum voluble as all of them need to instruct in consistent with the same educational design and they can recognize the merits and demerits of the curriculum to improve it accordingly.

However, the common curriculum may lead to undeniable consequences. First, a body of bureaucracies would determine the courses which might not reflect and meet the actual needs of the community and educational purposes. For instance, they may just concentrate on some aspects of education including science and math while they neglect to pay much attention to other courses like history and geography. Second, such curriculum would deprive educational stakeholders of certain textbooks, programs and even tutorial websites to augment their knowledge and skills. This may also lead to a restricted educational system. For instance some students are highly qualified and smart in specific fields; thus, a particular curriculum can be designed to flourish those students’ potentials and knowledge.

In conclusion, uniform curriculum should be applied in all schools to expose all students with practical knowledge and skills for societal and academic life whereas such curriculum may constrict stakeholders somewhat in designing courses and developing talented students’ potentials.