Essay topic 3: Scandals are useful because they focus our attention on problems in ways that no speaker or reformer ever could.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

There have always been scandals in history. Speakers and reformers try to make the world better by shedding light on delicate and intricate issues that do not come into light due to lack of exposure and accessibility of the public or the government to notice them. On the one hand, being exposed to scandals in the past few years, people are fairly aware of the injustice, false claims and promises they have encountered. On the other hand, the revelation of scandals is considered useless unless they prevent the same problems from emerging. Therefore, I partly agree with this assertion.

Firstly, scandals could be useful as they reveal the society’s problems over time. When an issue is brought to light by a speaker or a reformer, they want to voice out their opinions so that a change should be made. Such an incident is happening in my country. Corruption and bribery are prevalent amongst the politicians in Iran. Some celebrities and journalists have constantly been disclosing their scandals via social medias to make significant changes to better.

Secondly, people have relied on politicians and advocated them in their elections before. Focusing on their scandals, speakers and reformers make people prudent of this issue and prevent them from electing the same people for the future elections.

However, it is argued that the impact of getting population’s attention to scandals is temporary. The scandals will be expunged once the media stop talking about them. People are triggered and outraged by the scandal issues but the media pose other new issues before the previous issues are tackled or sensibly studied.

In addition, concentrating on scandals can be worthy providing that some changes are made. For instance, the recent economical problems in Iran have been under investigation. It was revealed that thousands of Euros have been spent illegally by some top mangers . No firm action was taken against them which implies that such issues keep happening.

To conclude, it is obvious that many illegal and corruptible practices occur throughout the world and exposure of at least one of such will make people contemplate the latent problems of the society. Nevertheless, this disclosure of scandals will be useless if no fundamental chases take into consideration.