Essay topic 9: People's behavior is largely determined by forces not of their own making.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

People’s behavior has been studied over the years to determine whether internal or external forces drive their behavior. Some argue that human’s behavior is mainly influenced by external forces which is true in most cases due to societal expectations and circumstances. Individuals are taught how they should behave in various situations such as peer groups, professional settings, family environment, etc., however, internal forces occasionally override socially acceptable behaviors.

To begin with, the man’s action and behavior are shaped in consistent with the circumstances which he stands. There are some unwritten and adapted social norms and conventions which are accepted by people who endeavor to act in line with them. L lucid example which shed spotlights on this fact is to respect elderly in Iran. Children have to obey elderly to show respect even if their orderly’s ideas are false and against their children’s. This respect is rooted in the country’s beliefs. Respecting the seniors’ false opinions is solely for the sake of external factors of accepted norm of the circumstance.

In addition, some people modify their behavior as they are influenced by surroundings. Some people are rebellious and they act differently once they are surrounded by a body of well behaved people. To illustrate this, let us consider a rebellious individual at a party. He changes his behavior and observes the etiquettes and table manner to be compatible with the conditions he stands.

In contrary, strong enough internal forces determine people’s behavior regardless of their circumstances. Internal forces also cause people to behave irrationally. For instance, some people impulsively quit their job out of anger towards their bosses. People who suffer from psychological problems such as anxiety and depression avoid attending social settings and joining the coterie of their friends despite of a welcoming environment.

In conclusion, people’s behavior is conducted by their surroundings. However, internal forces such as psychological barriers can drive people’s behavior in some circumstances.