People's behavior is largely determined by forces not of their own making.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

I agree with the statement that people's behavior is largely determined by forces not of their own making. Although the free will is the primrary influence of ones behavior, as far as I'm concern, family, social environment and culture has great impact on not only our behavior, but also our thought and decision making process. Subjectively, the people's behavior is mostly determined by forces not of their own making.

From ancient times people have learned about the benifit of live in a group. It is a very smart strategy for self-protection against the harsh environment, and fearceful preditators in the wilderness. With the development of our society, social groups, such as communities, schools or groups of friends have become more important to people. It is common for ones trying to adapt to a certain group by mimicing or following others behaviors, or the group leaders trying to keep everyone fall in line by stress the commonality within the group. In a way, the social groups we belongs to will have great influences on how we behave.

Other than social groups, the family has a very significant influence to ones behavior. All the attributes of parents will reflects on their early education. The extreme example will be the child abuse. If the parents are lacks of temper and always blames everything during the childhood of one person, it is possible that they are more likely to become lacks of sence of security or even pychological trama. Their behavior will be very different from the people who was raised from a more calmly childhood.

What is more, the culture has a great impact of our behavior as well. Although it is simiar to the infulence we recieve from social groups, the influence of culture present itself as a larger trends of how people behave from the same area. There are many reason why the culture has such great influence on us, it is possible the geological environment has a great impact, or it is possible that it is formed due to the history of this area.

Generally speaking, although our own free will determined our behavior, but it is also greatly influenced by our family, our peers and our culture.