Woven baskets characterized by a particular distinctive pattern have previously been found only in the immediate vicinity of the prehistoric village of Palea and therefore were believed to have been made only by the Palean people. Recently, however, archaeologists discovered such a "Palean" basket in Lithos, an ancient village across the Brim River from Palea. The Brim River is very deep and broad, and so the ancient Paleans could have crossed it only by boat, and no Palean boats have been found. Thus it follows that the so-called Palean baskets were not uniquely Palean.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The author states that because the Brim River is deep and broad and no Palean boats have been found thus the "Palean basket" were not uniquely Palean. Although it is possible that the Palean basket is not unique to the Palean people, the author did not provide sufficient evidence to support his argument.

The author claim that because the Brim river is very deep and broad, therefore the only way for people to travel between Palean and Lithos is via boat. However, there are more possible alternitive solution which the author did not investigate. For example, it is possible that Palean people built a bridge in the more narrow section of the brim river, or there was a detour exist which allows Palean people travel without crossing the river. In order to support his argument, the author need to investigate along the river to see if such bridge vestiage exist. What is more, it is common for river to divert over time. Although the Brim River is deep, broad and impossible to across without boat, it is possible that it is so shallow that people can just walk across the water or the river were not run between Palean and Lithos. The author need to provide evidence from geological research to support his argument.

Even if the author would able to confirm that the Palean and Lithos people need to use boat to cross the Brim River. It is impossible to determine whether the boat is available to the people of Palean and Lithos with a simple claim as "no Palean boats have been found." Woods, the common materials for making boats, will tend to decay over time and only leaves little trace. It is more than likly that the research team has overlooked the vestiage of boat and made such hasty conclusion. What is more, it is possible that all the boats are in teh vicinity of Lithos instead of Palea. More evidence is required on how far had the archaeologist searched in the vicinity of Palea and Lithos to determine if the boat is truly exist in this area.

Finally, the author needs to provides evidence to rule out if there is third party involved in the trading between the Palea and Lithos. Since even though it is possible that Palea and Lithos cannot trade directly becasue they cannot cross the Brim River, there might be traveler or vendors who will travel between the village or both Palea and Lithos have trade relation with a remote ancient village. If this case can be supported by the new evidence, it is reasonable to challege the argument the author proposed.

In summary, in order to support his argument, the author need to provide evidence to suggest that it is impossible for people to travel between two villages without the boat and the boat does not exist during the time in both Palean and Lithos. What is more, the evidence to suggest the trading via a third party is not possible is important to proven that the argument is supported.