The following appeared as a letter to the editor from a Central Plaza store owner.

"Over the past two years, the number of shoppers in Central Plaza has been steadily decreasing while the popularity of skateboarding has increased dramatically. Many Central Plaza store owners believe that the decrease in their business is due to the number of skateboard users in the plaza. There has also been a dramatic increase in the amount of litter and vandalism throughout the plaza. Thus, we recommend that the city prohibit skateboarding in Central Plaza. If skateboarding is prohibited here, we predict that business in Central Plaza will return to its previously high levels."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

Store owners in Central Plaza predict that the prohibition of skateboarding will result in the improvement in sanitary condition and their businesses. To support his/her recommendation, one store owner referred to the relationship between the rise in the number of skateboard users and the decline in those of shoppers. In addition, the author cited a significant rise in the amount of rubbish and vandalism throughout the plaza during the same period of two years. In order to fully evaluate this recommendation, however, there are two questions that need to be answered.

The first question is that are there any other reasons for the drop in the number of shoppers in Central Plaza? It may simply because of inflation, thus people who live in a budget decide to purchase only necessary stuffs in local markets instead of shopping in a mall which cost a fortune. Unless evidence were presented based on quantitative data, it would be inadequate to convince city’s mayor to ban skateboarding. For example, if store owners implemented a survey asking the residents who live near the Central Plaza why they stop shopping there and most of them complained about the chaos caused by skateboarding, thus it could be used to effectively back the author’s argument.

The second question is that what evidence used by the author to reconcile the discrepancy between skateboarding and vandalism. In the letter sent to the editor, the store owner only mentioned the deterioration of facilities and the unsanitary condition without any evidence or information related to skateboarders, therefore the argument does not effectively show a connection between these two matters. In order to make it more convincing, the author, for example, should provide CCTV recording the destructive act of skateboarders or showing that the grow in the amount of litter just happens around skating area. It is easy to understand that the more people taking part in a particular activity, the more trash is thrown to the environment. Nevertheless, it could be due to unconscious behavior of anyone, not only of people who skateboard.

In conclusion, though it seems logical and convincing at first glance, the argument is rife with holes and lacking of evidence, thus not strong enough to ensure the efficiency of the author’s recommendation to the current problems. If the author cannot answer two fundamental questions mentioned above, I do believe that he/she cannot persuade the authority to ban skateboarding in the Central plaza.