Some people believe that corporations have a responsibility to promote the well-being of the societies and environments in which they operate. Others believe that the only responsibility of corporation, provided they operate within the law, is to make as much money as possible.

Write a response in which you discuss which view more closely aligns with your own position and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should address both of the views presented.

While some people believe that corporations have a responsibility to contribute to the society, others believe that making money is the only purpose of a corporation. It is undeniable that corporations need money in order to survive. In my opinion, however, all companies have a duty to ensure the well-being of the societies and environments in which they are a part beside business jobs.

On the one hand, contributing to the development of a society is beneficial to a corporation in many cases. Taking Vinfast and Samsung as examples, one is a domestic car company and another is an international incorporation respectively, but both of them have been operated their factories in rural areas of Vietnam. By doing so, they have been created millions of job opportunities for Vietnamese people, even the ones who do not know the first thing about electronic devices or mechanism can be trained before joining the manufacturing processes. In this circumstance, corporations can not only ensure the supply of their labor force, but also receive an abundant of support from local authority such as special tax policy. Moreover, the reputation in social acts will leave a good impression in their customer, therefore results in the increase in sales and profits. Thus, I believe that the more corporations contribute to the societies that they are located in, the more they will receive as return.

On the other hand, the eagerness to make as much money as possible without taking responsibility for the well-being of the societies and environments may be counterproductive. For example, Vedan, which is used to be a top company in producing MSG in Vietnam, drained their wastewater directly to Thi Vai River in order to cut down the revenue spent on wastewater treatment. Contaminants in wastewater was attributed to the death of several creatures living under the water. In consequence, Vietnamese customers boycotted all products under this brand which leaded to the worst financial crisis of Vedan during the period of 8 years from 2008 to 2016.

In conclusion, all corporations should consider social duty as an important factor that contributes to the development of their businesses instead of neglecting it. Even though they have an economic desire to make more profits, corporations also should think long-term about actions they take which could hurt their companies.