The following is a recommendation from the business manager of Monarch Books.

"Since its opening in Collegeville twenty years ago, Monarch Books has developed a large customer base due to its reader-friendly atmosphere and wide selection of books on all subjects. Last month, Book and Bean, a combination bookstore and coffee shop, announced its intention to open a Collegeville store. Monarch Books should open its own in-store café in the space currently devoted to children's books. Given recent national census data indicating a significant decline in the percentage of the population under age ten, sales of children's books are likely to decline. By replacing its children's books section with a café, Monarch Books can increase profits and ward off competition from Book and Bean."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

In order to increase profits of Monarch Books and prevent it from a competition with Book and Bean, the business manager of this brand recommended opening a café in replacement of children’s book corner. To support his/her argument, the manager cited data from national census which illustrates the downward trend in the population of children aged under 10 and the plan of Book and Bean to open a new bookstore with an in-store coffee shop in Collegeville. However, the author’s argument is rife with holes, thus not strong enough to ensure the efficiency of that recommendation.

Firstly, because of the difference in business model of two bookstore brands, there is no guarantee of success if Monarch Books copy the way that Book and Bean combines its bookstore and café. An in-store coffee shop might change the reader-friendly atmosphere that has been Monarch Books’ reputation for over twenty years. For example, some people could go to bookstore just to grab a cup of coffee because of its nice view and the noise from coffee corner could disturb other readers. Additionally, the decision to venture in F&B industry means that Monarch Books have to cover many more categories than before, such as management, hygiene standard, menu, and staffs for the café. Therefore, it would be high-risk and not likely to result in the rise in profits.

Secondly, the author supposed that Monarch Books should stop selling children’s books due to the low in birth rate recently. However, there are no specific evidences provided by the author to proof the reliability of his/her prediction about the drop in sales of children’s books. The number of books sold may depend on several factors. One-bookworm-kid can read 10 books a week and most of children in Collegeville are keen on reading books, for example, thus in this case the high or low in sales is determined by reading culture of this area. The removal of children’s books section may have prompted not only the decrease in the numbers of children who regularly pay a visit to the book store, but also a significant loss in potential consumers that are their parents.

In conclusion, due to its reliance on number of unsubstantiated assumption, the manager’s argument is unreliable. In order to fully evaluate the recommendation, a significant amount of additional evidence is to be required before an official decision is made.