The following appeared in a memo from a vice president of a manufacturing company.

"During the past year, workers at our newly opened factory reported 30 percent more on-the-job accidents than workers at nearby Panoply Industries. Panoply produces products very similar to those produced at our factory, but its work shifts are one hour shorter than ours. Experts say that fatigue and sleep deprivation among workers are significant contributing factors in many on-the-job accidents. Panoply's superior safety record can therefore be attributed to its shorter work shifts, which allow its employees to get adequate amounts of rest."

Write a response in which you discuss one or more alternative explanations that could rival the proposed explanation and explain how your explanation(s) can plausibly account for the facts presented in the argument.

A vice president of a manufacturing company stated in his/her memo that shortening work shift duration allows their employees spending more time on recovering, thus reduce the probability of accidents happened when working. To support his/her claim, the author compared the number of on-the-job accidents between his/her company and Panoply Industries which produces the similar type of products and is located nearby. It seems logical and convincing at first glance, however, the author’s argument is rife with holes which might lead to different conclusion.

First, lack of rest may not be the primary reason for accidents. As mentioned in the memo, the factory is a new one, thus we cannot rule out the probability that workers have not get used to how to operate machines yet. In contrast, Panoply’s employees were rich in experiences, therefore they could avoid common on-the-job accidents. Additionally, another reason can be account for the higher percentage of accidents at the author’s factory compared with the figure for Panoply is working condition. For example, workers at that factory are not provided with protective gear, while the level of danger involved while working is much higher, so it can be resulted in higher frequency of accidents. Therefore, attributing such accidents to fatigue and sleep deprivation in a major way seems illogical and far-fetched.

Secondly, the author’s argument does not make a concrete connection between the shorter work shifts and getting adequate amounts of rest. Nothing can ensure that all employees will utilize this extra hour for sleeping. If the working time is reduced by one hour, some who live in a budget may seek for part-time jobs to cover their living cost, while others may join extra classes at night. As a result, instead of spending more time on sleeping, they continue working relentlessly. Therefore, the presumption that workers will devote an extra one hour-off to recovery purpose is totally baseless and unsound.

In conclusion, it is not deniable that many on-the-job accidents caused by fatigue and sleep deprivation among workers, however there may be several factors that need to be examined carefully to find out the primary culprits for this phenomena. If not, the logical fallacies in the argument of the vice president might lead to a flaw decision.