The best way to teach is to praise positive actions and ignore negative ones.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

The prompt presents a method to educate a person by praising positive behaviors and ignoring negative ones. In my opinion, I strongly agree with the first half of the statement, while find fault with the latter half of it. In this essay, I would argue that either positive or negative actions need to be recognized because of two main reasons.

First, it is undeniable that praising is the easiest and efficient way to encourage positive actions because it is human nature that we all want to be accepted, especially for children at their early ages. For example, when a kid voluntarily shares his/her toys with his/her classmates, if the teacher praises this action, he/she would understand that it is a good behavior and tend to repeat this kind of action. By doing so, the teacher does not only reinforce a positive social behavior of that student, but also encourage other students to do the same to achieve a compliment.

Second, simply ignoring negative actions would not solve the problems because children cannot distinguish between good things and bad things unless someone tell them. When child hit or bully others to steal a toy away from his playmates, it would be dangerous if teacher ignores this action. It means students are allowed to use violence as a way to deal with conflict. Instead of ignoring student who is misbehaving, the teacher should stop this fight immediately to prevent students from any injuries, works with them to make sure that they are aware of their unacceptable actions. In this case, learning from mistakes is definitely a better way to educate young generation.

In conclusion, there is no perfect method that can be used to solve all problems. Thus, it is educator’s responsibility to be flexible to find the best suitable method for a particular case.