The following is a memorandum from the business manager of a television station. "Over the past year, our evening new program has devoted increased time to national news and decreased time to local and weather news. During this period, most of the complaints we got from viewers were concerned with our station's reportage of local and weather news. In addition, local businesses that used to advertise during our late night evening program have just canceled their advertising contract with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to us and stop losing advertising revenues we should restore time devoted to local and weather news to its former level."

Write a response in which you discuss the specific evidence needed to evaluate argument and explain how the evidence will weaken or strengthen the argument.

The manager of a tv station recommended increasing the airtime of weather and local news during all news program to solve the decrease in rating and advertising contract problems. To support his/her claim, the manager referred to two main evidences: the first one is viewers’ complaints about the coverage of weather and local news, and the second one is the cancellation of advertising contracts from some local businesses. it seems logical and convincing at first glance, but the argument is rife with holes, thus not strong enough to ensure the efficiency of the manager’s solution to the current problems.

Citing feedbacks from viewers, the tv station manager implies that the reason for the declination of rating is the inadequate coverage of weather and local news. it is not clear, however, the specific content of those feedbacks. For example, the late-night news program is scheduled to last an hour, but the viewers would be unable to spend too much time (especially very late at night) on watching tv or wait until the end of the program for local news and weather forecast. thus, the matter does not lie in airtime, it lies in the production process or the arrangement of categories in the program. In the situation mentioned above, the rise in the time devoted to local news and weather might be counterproductive and result in more complains in the future.

Additionally, the manager supposed that local businesses does not renew their contracts with the tv station due to the change in time durations for national and local news. it is not a reliable evidence because there are several other reasons for these decisions. if some local company are actually in limited budget for commercial, thus they cannot afford renewal contract. if the target customer of one gaming company is teenager, so it is an unwise marketing strategy if they continue spending their expenditure on advertising in late-night news program which the viewers are mostly adults or old people. To strengthen his/her argument, the manager would benefit from implementing a survey asking the representative of each company why they ended their ad contracts, otherwise the guess for less weather and local news is in great doubt and his/her conclusion will be rendered much less advisable.

In conclusions, while the cause of drop in viewership and commercial contracts has not been clear, the decision to expand the time for local news and weather on all news program is of high-risk and cursory movement. Thus, a significant amount of additional evidence needs to be examined before an official decision is going to be made.