Educational institutions have a responsibility to dissuade students from pursuing fields of study in which they are unlikely to succeed.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

I strongly disagree with the statement and would argue that students should be encouraged to pursue courses that interest them whether these courses are supposed to be trivial and cannot lead to success.

Some people may argue that in our increasingly globalized economy competition for jobs has skyrocketed, thus it is imperative that students should pursue practical paths. However, the job market is ever shifting, thus no one can guarantee that the current ‘hot’ jobs will still possess dizzying prospects after one graduate from college. For example, in the 2000s, finance and banking was rapidly growing field in Vietnam, thus many students put it on the top of the list when they registered for colleges without much consideration. Unfortunately, a few years later, Vietnam had suffered from one of the most severe finance crisis in the history, and as a result, an abundant of employees lost their jobs, and those who indeed were not interested in this field could easily give up and found another way to earn for a living. Therefore, if someone choose his/her profession based solely on its ‘promising’ opportunities, it is definitely unwise for a long run.

Further, if we assume that the job market is not dynamic, and the probability for the same finance crisis happened is negligible, one should still be encouraged to pursue his or her interest because our happiness plays a crucial role in how effectively we work. If a student who is passionate about classical music pragmatically chooses the path of computer programing because of the plethora of lucrative job opportunities, she runs the risk of finding no satisfaction in this job. She might go to work each day, complete her programming tasks haphazardly and submit subpar jobs. With this working attitude, it would be unsurprising that she will not achieve any rewards and success in her career. Thus, one is most likely to do the best job possible when he or she can do what they love.

In conclusion, instead of dissuading students’ desires, educational institutions ought to equip them with solid background in knowledge and social skills in order to encourage young generation to follow their passion.