The following appeared in a memo from a vice president of a manufacturing company.

"During the past year, workers at our newly opened factory reported 30 percent more on-the-job accidents than workers at nearby Panoply Industries. Panoply produces products very similar to those produced at our factory, but its work shifts are one hour shorter than ours. Experts say that fatigue and sleep deprivation among workers are significant contributing factors in many on-the-job accidents. Panoply's superior safety record can therefore be attributed to its shorter work shifts, which allow its employees to get adequate amounts of rest."

Write a response in which you discuss one or more alternative explanations that could rival the proposed explanation and explain how your explanation(s) can plausibly account for the facts presented in the argument.

In his memo, the vice president of a manufacturing company avers, that longer work shifts in his factory lead to an increased number of on-the-job accidents compared to workers with shorter shifts. His claims are based on numbers from Panoply, a nearby factory, and the opinion of experts doing research in that particular field. However, in order to evaluate this argument properly, some alternative explanations for the stated issues have to be analyzed.

To begin with, it is assumed that both manufacturers are comparable due to the similarity of the manufactured products. Therefore, the numbers of accidents in close relation with the worker’s jobs are claimed comparable as well. But, for instance, Panoply’s factory could boast a completely different and cutting-edge robot assembly line where difficult and thus dangerous jobs are exclusively done fully automatically and without the need of manual labor. Moreover, it could also be the case that as a result of a potential low number of union workers at Panoply’s factory their shifts might be an hour shorter but do not include several short breaks in between working hours and thus offer little rest during shifts whereas the manufacturing company offers these short breaks. If either of these scenarios has merit, the conclusions drawn in the original argument are significantly weakened.

Secondly, the vice president infers from the experts’ statement, that an inadequate amount of rest and the hence resulting sleep deprivation are the only cause of potential accidents in his plant. However, it could also be the case, that the factory is producing goods under potential dangerous and unpredictable circumstances for instance steel. Even with the best possible protection available on the market accidents are would be likely to occur and not a result of low amounts of rest. If the above mentioned is true, the argument does not hold water.

Finally, it is intimated that the numbers of on-the-job accidents are comparable without any mention of their severeness. However, for instance, while the vice president’s factory has comparable higher numbers of accidents in absolute numbers, Panoply’s rarer incidents might be more fatal. Additionally, it might also be the case, that Panoply’s protocol of what to call a work-related accident and that of the mentioned manufacturing company differ. It could therefore be possible that already minor paper-cuts are reported as an incident at one production site, while only broken bones are at the other. If any of these alternative explanations is the case in the given setting, the author’s arguments are again weakened.

In conclusion, the argument, as it stands now, is considerably flawed due to its reliance on several unwarranted assumptions. If the vice president can provide more thoroughly investigated evidence and perhaps conduct a systematic research study, then it will be possible to determine whether his claim that the number of on-the-job accidents is indeed closely linked to the duration of working shifts.