There is little justification for society to make extraordinary efforts — especially at a great cost in money and jobs — to save endangered animal or plant species.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Following recent discussions about the importance of saving endangered animals or plants compared to constructions of infrastructural importance quickly leads to the question of whether it is justified to spend a great amount of money and labour to save those species. With some small qualifications, the claim that there is little justification for that waste of resources can easily be buttressed for two reasons.

First, there is no direct positive effect of spending large sums of money for saving endangered animals to society. For instance, if there is no large excess of money in government financial plans, the sums spent to help species facing extirpation survive will consequentially lack for other projects of far greater importance. Wouldn’t most citizens first be better off with an affordable governmentally funded healthcare system than with a rare species of ants saved from no longer existing? There is no justification for a society to set the welfare of animals or plants in front of the wellbeing of parts of society that have to stint on a monthly budget every payday. Society is to be considered healthier if most members of it are taken care of adequately and not whether it has two or three different types of ants.

Second, however, this means not that efforts to save endangered animals should fully be neglected. For instance, German law requires managers of construction sites to set a certain low percentage of the building budget aside for taking nature-friendly measures. That way, it is secured that just a low amount of money or labour is spent on saving endangered species that would face extinction as an immediate result of losing their natural habitat to the construction site. Additionally, this law ensures that the people responsible for destroying parts of communal spaces and nature are the ones responsible. By doing so, the financial burden is shifted away from the taxpayer.

Moreover, it is often stated that people who as a whole make up society live happier if their surrounding nature remains intact and mostly undisturbed. However, this argumentation falls apart, as making cuts on saving measures for endangered species does not mean that it is now allowed to destroy nature all along. Therefore, there is no reason for societies to spend exorbitant sums on saving endangered species.