The following appeared as a letter to the editor from a Central Plaza store owner.

"Over the past two years, the number of shoppers in Central Plaza has been steadily decreasing while the popularity of skateboarding has increased dramatically. Many Central Plaza store owners believe that the decrease in their business is due to the number of skateboard users in the plaza. There has also been a dramatic increase in the amount of litter and vandalism throughout the plaza. Thus, we recommend that the city prohibit skateboarding in Central Plaza. If skateboarding is prohibited here, we predict that business in Central Plaza will return to its previously high levels."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

while it may be true that prohibiting skateboarding in the central plaza will restore the shopping business to it's previously high levels, the author does not explicitly state necessary evidences that are needed to warrant this resolution. Infact, quite a number of questions are needed to be answered to elucidate the highlighted arguments in this passage. I first wondered what relationship does skateboarding have with shopping such that would play an important role in customer's decisions to forfeit their choices for shopping in favor of skateboarding.

The first question that need to be answered here is that: are the people who used to patronize central plaza in shopping thesame with the skateboarders? this author vaguely stated the decline in the numbers of shoppers in comparing with the skateboarders. shopping and skateboarding are two incomparable endeavors that satisfy patently different needs. it can be inferred from the arguments that shoppers patronizes central plaza to satisfy their appetite while skateboarders, their physical fitness. so, to impute the rise in the number of skateboards to the decline in the number of shoppers is to contrast between two incomparable endeavors.

We may, however, assume the same people who shop also skate in the central plaza. Yet, we need to know what actually brought about their refusal to patronize central plaza in shopping. is it an increase in prices of goods or poor managerial experience? skaters, due to their need for fitness would prefer shopping light foods and energy drinks and snacks, if the prices of these commodities have actually skyrocketed in central plaza, they may want to buy their snacks and can drinks outside, where there are discounts.

The prompt also stated that there has also been a dramatic increase in the amount of litter and vandalism throughout the plaza. Another question that need to be answered here is: what are actually the litters? are they empty cans of drinks that could have come from skaters or food debris and snacks' nylon that could have been dropped by shoppers? The vandalism could have come from the skaters. however, more information is needed about the exact areas of central plaza that is been vandalized, such that could have affected their number of shopping patronage.

More so, are the skaters allowed to move just anywhere within the plaza? are their not restrictions to the areas they can cover as they move about? Only if these questions can be absolutely answered could the recommendation that the city prohibit skateboarding in central plaza hold reasonable evidence to predict that business in central plaza will return to its previously high levels.