Are difficult experiences valuable lessons for the future?

Life is full of challenges. Wether you are born with a silver spoon or without any, there are meant to be happy and sad moments on everyone's road to success. However, the sad moments can play a significant role in our lives if properly handled. In my opinion, I believe that one can gain tangible knowledge through difficult situations. The reason why I feel this was is what I will explore in the following essay.

First of all, a hard moment could be valuable tool to teach us independence and strengthen us to overcome more difficult situation in the long run. If an individual would be resilient and not waiver, he will build up strength to withstand life challenges that may occur in the future. My personal experience is a compelling example to illustrate this. For instance, I lost my mum two months after I got admission to the tertiary institution and my academic almost came to a halt. She was the one who used to shoulder the responsibility of my late father. Receiving the information of her demise from my elder brother, a huge feeling of hopelessness rose out of me and I already knew that I should be prepared for the worst that life would bring on my way to success. Things became so hard that it was reasonable for me to drop out of school. However, I engaged myself in menial jobs off campus to support my academics inasmuch as the extended family members would not give a helping hand. Gradually, I learnt to become strong and cater for my needs all by myself. Due to the home lesson service I offered to high school students, I came across a professor who hired me to prepare his son for the university's enterance exam. The professor noticed my fidelity and persistence, he got so much interested in me and offered me a scholarship for the rest of my studies. Had I given up on my academic dream because of my mum's demise, I wouldn't have enjoyed the benefits of becoming self dependent and studying without having to worry about tuition fees.

Secondly, bitter experience could be a stepping stone for us to attain greater success if adequately managed. For example, I worked with a construction company immediately after I graduated from the University. Although I was earning quite lower than I should but I had to manage the pay because it was hard to get a job those times. Meanwhile, the time came that company's management wanted to promote some workers based on aptitude paper based test. I wrote the test and aced it accordingly. However, clear evidences showed that my score was switched in favor of a young man who was the Manager's nephew. So, he was promoted instead. This experience was another huge blow that life threw at me but I had to move on with my work for the company without compromising my level of diligence. Little did I know that I was about to hit a jackpot. As life would have it, the chief executive officer of the company got to know about how I was denied of my promotion and he summoned an urgent meeting for a review. Eventually, the manager who switched my score for her nephew's was relieved of her position and I was promoted to become the managing director.

In conclusion, I strongly believe that hard moments can teach us important future lessons. This is because bitter experiences can make us strong, independent, and attain greater success.