Your school has received a gift of money What do you think is the best way for your school to spend this money Use specific reasons and details to support your choice

It is critically important that institutions of learning are financially underpinned by the government. This would enhance novel research that proffers solution to pressing challenges in the society most especially when the money received is diverted towards appropriate area. Personally, I believe that the best way my school can make use of gifted money is to spend it on facilities that will improve academic research. There are two reasons why I feel this way which I will explore in the following essay.

To begin with, one of the vital ways by which our society can become better is through unprecedented research in institutions of learning. When Universities have enough facilities for research, provisions would be made to ameliorate environmental challenges. My personal experience is a compelling example to illustrate this point. During my penultimate year of study, I carried out an investigation into the impacts of mining activities on the neighboring communities to an aggregate quarry. Among other threats posed by exploitation of minerals resources on the environment are dust emissions, ground vibration, and hazard due to fly-rock during blasting operations. To contain these problems, I created a model using artificial neural network (ANN) to predict the possibility of fly-rock prior to blasting operations. However, the prediction was not perfectly accurate because only a cracked version of the software was available in the department. It required a whooping sum of ten thousand dollars to buy the original version which the department could not afford. Fortunately, the state governor made a warm visit to the University and being an advocate of environmental safety, he gifted the department of Mining Engineering a sum of money. So, the faculty professors reached a concesus that the money should be diverted to pending novel research. Eventually, an original version of ANN was bought and I could successfully complete my research. Had the faculty members spent the money on something else, the problems caused my mining activities in the community might be left unsolved.

Furthermore, by carrying out timely investigations, a university tend to build her reputation within the country and the entire globe. For instance, after launching the best software for ANN in my department, other students were able to leverage on the opportunity to advance the frontiers of environmental safety in the department. Through problem solving academic projects, my institution was ranked the best university of technology in the country for three consecutive years while taking a second place in environmental and mining engineering among all universities in the world. This could not have been possible if the university had not diverted her gifted funds into appropriate research areas.

In conclusion, I strongly believe that the best way an institution can spend a gifted amount of money is to use it for novel academic projects. This is because research will help alleviate environmental challenges and as well take the university's reputation to higher niche.