In the 1950s Torreya taxifolia, a type of evergreen tree once very common in the state of

Florida, started to die out. No one is sure exactly what caused the decline, but chances

are good that if nothing is done, Torreya will soon become extinct. Experts are considering three ways to address the decline of Torreya.

The first option is to reestablish Torreya in the same location in which it thrived for

thousands of years. Torreya used to be found in abundance in the northern part of Florida, which has a specific microclimate. A microclimate exists when weather conditions

inside a relatively small area differ from the region of which that area is a part. Northern

Florida’s microclimate is very favorable to Torreya’s growth. This microclimate is wetter

and cooler than the surrounding region’s relatively dry, warm climate. Scientists have

been working to plant Torreya seeds in the coolest, dampest areas of the microclimate.

The second option is to move Torreya to an entirely different location, far from its

Florida microclimate. Torreya seeds and saplings have been successfully planted and

grown in forests further north, where the temperature is significantly cooler. Some scientists believe that Torreya probably thrived in areas much further north in the distant past,

so by relocating it now, in a process known as assisted migration, humans would simply

be helping Torreya return to an environment that is more suited to its survival.

The third option is to preserve Torreya in research centers. Seeds and saplings can be

moved from the wild and preserved in a closely monitored environment where it will be

easier for scientists both to protect the species and to conduct research on Torreya. This

research can then be used to ensure the continued survival of the species.

Summarize the points made in the lecture, being sure to explain how they cast doubt

on the specific solutions presented in the reading passage.

In the article, experts propose three ways to solve the problem of declining torreya. However, the professor explains that none of the ways provides satisfactory solution and refutes each of the expert’s proposal with justifiable reasons.

First, the reading claims that by replanting torreya in the same wetter and cooler area which it flourished for more than one thousand years, the plant would not likely go into extinction. The professor refutes this point by saying that this approach is unlikely to be successful because coolest areas are affected by global warming. So the water would not necessarily be enough for torreya’s survival.

Second, the article posits that another solution is to completely migrate torreya to a totally different location by planting it’s seed and saplings in a cooler region. However, the professor says that black locust transfers alongside when plants are relocated to new environment. According to the order professor, migration can be problematic in the sense that plants are unable to survive upon relocation.

Third, the reading says that torreya’s seed can also be moved to a research center where scientist can carry out investigations and also protect the plant. The professor opposes this point by explaining that population of trees in a study center must be large and genetic if they would be able to survive disease in the long run. Hence, she stated that the proposal would also not suffice.